Core i3, i5 and i7…..What does that mean?

6 Jul

Hi folks,

Kristin here ,reporting from the lovely Eurodam stationed at the moment in Stockholm, Sweden with a little tip for anyone possibly in the market to purchase a new type of
PC.  When I teach the It’s All Geek to Me course here in the Digital Workshop, in which we try to find what type of PC is a best fit for you and your lifestyle, I often get asked the question, “Should I get a PC with an i3, i5 or i7 processor? And what’s the difference between them?”

First of all,these terms correspond to processors from the specific brand of Intel.  A processor is like the engine of your computer, the bigger it is, the faster your computer is going to go.  The different numbers 3, 5 and 7 correspond to the different variants, Core i3 is for a low level, Core i5 the midrange level and Core i7 is the high end performance.

Before you make a purchase though, you should really think about what you are going to do with you computer.  If you are just using your computer to email, surf the web, create word documents and perhaps do a little photo editing you would probably be just as fine with a Core i3. It’s a solid, affordable choice for a heavy majority of people.

The Core i5 is going to be a computer that is more expensive than a PC with a core i3 but it’s going to be more powerful and be able to allow you to work with larger programs.  A step up from the Core i3, i5 processors will give you a noticeable difference in speed, depending on what type of applications that you run. If you are playing minesweeper, you aren’t going to be able to tell a difference between Core i3 and Core i5 processors. If you are editing multiple files in Adobe Flash, with virtualization software, playing the newest RPG computer game you may notice the Core i5 to be much more faster. The Core i5 is great for people who use their computers frequently for programs that require more power from your computer and for people who multi-task.

The Core i7 are the current most expensive and top of the line from the Core series of Intel processors. For most computer users, the i7 is probably much more than they’ll actually need or even think they need.  But, if you want the best of the best that will run your video rendering programs, giant RPG games, and many other higher technical programs and are willing to pay for it than the i7 is all yours.

Always try to remember to try to fit your computer to what you do in life.  I had one guest make a comment that I stilluse in class.  “So I bought a Lamborghini when really all I needed was a Ford Focus.”

Hope this post helped to answer some of questions.

 

Cheers from the Eurodam,

Kristin, Techspert in the Digital Workshop powered by Windows

20 Responses to “Core i3, i5 and i7…..What does that mean?”

  1. Jeanette Meeker July 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    What brand of laptops are used in the digital workshops on the Amsterdam? We traveled to Alaska in June 2011. Can you also tell me the specs and model? I would like to buy a laptop in the next several weeks and since I enjoyed using the class laptops very much I may consider buying one like that. Frank was an excellent instructor! I definitely want to get Windows 7.

    • haldigitalworkshop July 11, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      Hi Jeanette, thanks so much for the kind words. Frank is definitely a huge asset to our Digital Workshop team. As for the type of computers that you saw on board, those would have been Sony Vaio FW Series. The exact specs and model are something that only our technical team knows, so I apologize I can’ be more of a help there. The other thing is that our laptops that you used are over a year old from their original release, so a newer model of the series has inevitably come out. However, we have used Sony Vaio laptops in our Digital Workshops since we first began operation in 2008, and they have worked quite well for us. Hope that helps!

      • Kevin Mann July 19, 2011 at 2:29 am #

        Hi Kristin I was on the Eurodam for two june cruise total 24 days with you and did and enjoyed courses on best face 1 etc and you said full instructions on these were available on this website. Unfortunately, I cannot find them can you help please.

        Thank you

      • haldigitalworkshop July 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

        Hi Kevin, the link you’ll need for the full handouts is right here. https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=11000f2c30f27485&sc=documents&id=11000F2C30F27485!204

        Hope that helps!

      • Kevin Mann July 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

        Hi Kristin Just a late thank you for the information regarding the indepth information on your courses, unfortunately in my enthusiam to use the latest live gallery and go to Windows 7 from XP I was told my office platform was too old and would need replacing too, pushing it out to around $600 plus. As I don’t want another computer at present I have accepted my computer shop advice and purchased Photoshop which they assure me will do the same at 1/6th the price of upgrade. As my daughter loves doing things like calendars, cards etc with photos have given her your information as she has a new laptop and Windows 7. At least not going to waste. Hope you are continuing to enjoy your job/photography and congratulations for you do an excellent job. Regards Kevin.

  2. Angela Kenny August 6, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    wow this is the best i’ve read in a long time.

  3. Laptop prices in Pakistan January 24, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    Nice information. Best article. By the way iam waiting for i 9 . :P
    Here are the prices for laptops Laptop prices in Pakistan

  4. azgar June 5, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    its very helpfull information

  5. Jaydeep Samanta July 1, 2012 at 12:21 am #

    Thank you Kristin for this article, this will help me to answer my friends.

  6. Flexx August 8, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Excellent post dude! i appreciate it.

  7. Bob October 8, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Intel i3 TO i7 is easy to understand but what are the comparable AMD processors.
    Thank you

  8. luke December 19, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    I looked at the exchange rate £ against the rupee, and I found it is about the same price if not more expensive to purchase in pakisan

  9. Blue Mnemosyne February 21, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    Now i know !!next time i buy laptop i will choose core i7 ..thanks krstin

  10. soeng April 25, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Now i want to run my small studio or shop but i has problems about my coputer so which one of coputer is the best for my job?

  11. luv chandnani June 29, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Hey Kristin. Thanks alot. For letting most of us know the difference between the core I. I am planning to buy a laptop . But didn’t knew who to ask . Also felt awkward in asking. I found my answer . I searched the google first . And later from google connected you. :-) Ohh and sorry about my English. If made mistakes and ur not able to understand. I’m working on my English. Thanks cheers .

  12. supun shanaka July 12, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    thanx for your details.

  13. mercy July 19, 2013 at 3:03 am #

    thank you

  14. Hania Mustafa November 18, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    what is the basic defiantion of core I ?

  15. chiagoro kyrian January 20, 2014 at 7:58 am #

    The core series are ok and is moving

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

