Welcome to the HAL Digital Workshop online!

18 Oct
Welcome to our virtual Digital Workshop.  If you’ve attended a Digital Workshop onboard one of the Holland America ships, welcome back.  If this is your first time here, we’re glad you’ve joined us.
On the site, you’ll find links to all of the handouts from your Digital Workshop.  You’ll also find a couple of versions of the handouts – you’ll find the short (front and back) copy you received in class and you’ll also find a longer version (sometimes five or six pages!) that includes lots more information, step-by-step instructions, and more information.
Don’t forget to visit your ships Spaces page (usually http://(ship name).spaces.live.com – for example http://msrotterdam.spaces.live.com) to keep up on the latest happenings in the Digital Workshops, stay connected with your Techspert, and see guest photos and memories of great trips.
Thanks for joining us.  We look forward to sailing again with you in the future!
The Holland America Line Digital Workshop Team
20 Responses to “Welcome to the HAL Digital Workshop online!”

  1. ken kronowitz December 31, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    On my Zuiderdam cruise–12/13-23–went to the workshops with. Trevor A nice surprise on the cruise. Very informative and instructive. Made me a convert to W7. I don’t know about your other instructors; but, I think he must be one of the better ones.
    The only problem is that the attendees are usually more than the available laptops.
    Hopefully more cruise lines will engage your program, such as Carnival.

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Hi Ken, so glad you enjoyed the cruise. We understand that the courses are popular, and our best solution to the lack of space in the workshops is by holding each session multiple times. Hopefully you’ll sail again and enjoy the new courses that we are offering!

  2. John Ireland January 27, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I have been on 4 HA cruises. I have used your workshops on two: A man taught the first one on the Rotterdam and a woman taught last weeks on the Zeedam. Both were so competent in their knowledge and their ability to instruct.
    Thanks

  3. Bob Kula February 4, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    We just returned from the Zuiderdam and Trevor was outstanding. I learned so much in his classes. This was a great addition to our cruise. I hope you add it to all your cruises and to the Carnival ships also.
    Thank you & thank Trevor.

  4. allen dean February 5, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    I am trying to follow the instructions on the handout sheets I received on a resent cruise and I can’t get the download to work.

    Allen

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Hi Allen, We actually just updated the links for handouts. If you click on the Unabridged or Condensed links in the post on this blog, it will take you to either file folder. From there you’ll need to click on each individual class title (each one is an acronym) and then select download for each file. Hope that helps!

  5. hotlibrarytech February 6, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    These were great classes – I am going to try to make a movie this weekend – in between the Superbowl of course!

  6. Card Prid March 6, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    WHERE are the handouts??? I don’t see a link to them.

    You’ll also find a couple of versions of the handouts – you’ll find the short (front and back) copy you received in class and you’ll also find a longer version (sometimes five or six pages!) that includes lots more information, step-by-step instructions, and more information.

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      The handout links have been updated and our on the most recent post (from 5/23/2011).

  7. Steve March 14, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I loved the courses but – after getting hooked on the Windows Live Movie Maker and the merge and Panorama functions, I was dissapointed to find out when I returned home that these functions are not avaiklable for Win XP… only Win 7 and I don’t plan to upgrade soo. The handouts should be updated – and the classes clearly noted – that you must have Win 7 for Put Your Best Face Forward and the Your Away From Home Movie courses.

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Hi Steve, thanks for the input. We do encourage Techsperts to tell our guests that not all features in the particular class may work on XP, but each skill learned in Put Your Best Face Forward 1 does in fact work on XP with Windows Live Photo Gallery (panoramic photos included). However, there are a tasks in BFF2 that one will need the Photo Gallery that runs on Vista or Windows 7.

  8. bob miller March 19, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Took cruise on Zuiderdam and attended 5 digital course put on by Trevor, very well done and educational, made the sea days worthwhile for me.

  9. David gottdiner March 28, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I was on HAL last week and went to several classes. They were very good. I want to thank you. Ryan was outstanding

  10. wcrnw April 26, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I am VERY dissappointed that spaces is no longer available. I put alot of work in on my pictures, and they are nolonger available online.

    Spaces was removed suddenly without notification. Very poor PR!

    Robert Wells

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Hi Robert, sorry for the confusion but hopefully I can help out here. Here are a few websites with FAQ’s and directions for what happened with Spaces and what things are still available. Please let me know if you have any questions.
      http://explore.live.com/windows-live-spaces-transition-migrate
      http://explore.live.com/windows-live-spaces-help-center (I think this one may be particularly helpful).
      Again, sorry for your experience with Spaces shifting to wordpress, but hopefully some of this can help answer your questions (as your pictures are actually still available on Windows Live (through your skydrive) and you can still share them with friends and family.

  11. Sandra Hein May 23, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Took HAL Windows Live classes (Many) and this was to be so simple. NOT! E-mail to confirm had already been removed.

    Now I have a “Wesetup-web” that will not open. Very unhappy.

    • haldigitalworkshop May 23, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Hi Sandra, could you clarify what your problem might be? I’m not quite sure what your issue is, but would be happy to assist if we had a little more info.

      -HAL Digital Workshop

  12. Tim Goodman July 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I’m trying to download the complete instructions for the classes I took but every time I log onto Windows Live it tells me that there is a temporary problem and I can’t go any further. This has been going on for two weeks now. Is there somewhere else I can get the downloads? I took the classes on the TransAtlantic voyage of the Eurodam in April and enjoyed the classes very much, but I need the complete instructions. tpghawk@cox.net

  13. Martha Bierce Crafton January 20, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    Just returned from Southern Caribbean cruise aboard MS Ryndam. I enjoyed four of Kristin’s seminars concerning Windows 8 and related apps. Now, here’s my dilemma: I think I left a 16g memory card in one of the computers. On January 18, I attended the session of making creative projects with photos and the one on making movies. Here’s hoping someone finds my card with over 1200 photos. If I had read this blog I would have taken a picture of my personal card and put it on the memory card. Great tip, by the way. I have contacted lost and found as well. Thanks, Kristin, for the well-organized and helpful seminars. Martha Crafton

  14. Ken Frook September 10, 2015 at 4:10 pm #

    i have made a movie and butned the DVD but have no sound. What do I do to get sound on my DVD. there is sound when i play the movie on the computer

Leave a Reply

