Multi-tasking in Windows 7

17 Jul

Multi-tasking in Windows 7

 

My name is Bryan Roper and I’m the Techspert aboard the ms Oosterdam sailing out of Seattle!

Windows 7 has so many amazing features to help streamline your day to day operations. I’m going to show you one of my favorite multi-tasking tricks in Windows 7; it’s useful and looks really cool as well!

In Windows 7, you can easily switch between programs that are running using a quick and easy keyboard command that only requires one hand!

 

Here you can see I’m working with Windows live photo gallery on my PC.

P1020082

 

If I want to switch to another program that I have running like Internet Explorer, or Microsoft Word, I can do so quickly and easily with this cool menu!

P1020083

Here’s how it works. Let’s start out by identifying the two keys on the keyboard I will use for this feature.

The first one is the “Windows” key and it’s towards the bottom left hand corner of your key board.

WindowsKEy

The second is the “Tab” key and its near the upper left hand corner of your keyboard.

Tab

 

I start out by holding down the “Windows” key with my left thumb.

While holding windows key down I press the “Tab” key once.

P1020081

This brings up a visual menu of all the programs I have running at the moment.

inprocess

Every time I hit the Tab key while holding the Windows key, I cycle through the running programs. When I press Tab until the program I want to switch to is in the front, then I simply let go of the Windows key.

Pretty awesome!

I hope this helps you along with your multi-tasking!

-Bryan Roper  Techspert     ms Oosterdam

7 Responses to “Multi-tasking in Windows 7”

  1. Claudette Gast July 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I love it! Really helpful! Keep the quick tricks coming. Thanks for sharing!

    Claudette

  2. Donna July 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Thanks for the class, I really loved it. Keep up the great work.

    Donna

  3. Janice July 28, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Hi, Bryan,
    Nice to see some clues/cues for using the keyboard. Enjoyed working with Will last November, and hope to take the ‘classes’ again in December on the Maasdam…assuming there’s a techspert aboard. Will was able to get workshops going on the Prinsendam…after putting the art gallery ‘out of the way.’ Quite a guy to keep things going. Is he still among the cruising techsperts? 🙂

    • haldigitalworkshop August 2, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Hi Janice, I’m actually not among the roster of cruising Techspert’s anymore, but was placed into the position of managing the program for our head office, so I am still very much involved. Thanks for the kind words and we’ll look forward to having you on the Maasdam! -Will

  4. Devin McCliment August 12, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    you sir have helped more then youtube

  5. Jhonny bravo May 21, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Thanks! I was searching for this! Nice tutorial. 🙂

Leave a Reply

