Retouching Photos Made Easy

14 Aug

One of my favorite things about traveling is taking photos.  As we sail around the world on Holland America Line, there is no shortage of photo opportunities.  Sometimes when we take pictures though, they do not always turn out perfect.  There are certain things we cannot control, like what gets into the background of a photo, or the weather, or the people around us.  That’s why my approach to taking pictures is to take them the best I can, and I try to enjoy my time wherever I am.  Then once I am home and at my computer, I can very easily go in and make some enhancements by using Windows Live Photo Gallery.

One of my favorite tools in Windows Live Photo Gallery is the retouch tool.  See below how it helped me get rid of the telephone wires in the background of this photo.

In order to use the retouch tool, open Windows Live Photo Gallery and double click on the picture you want to work with.  When you double click, the picture will open nice and big and the ribbon across the top will look like this.

Click on retouch and move your mouse onto the photo.  Your pointer will change from an arrow symbol to a cross bar.  The cross bar will help you draw a box over the problem area, like the telephone wires in the above example.  To draw a box click, and hold your click down, and at the same time start to move your mouse.  When you let go of your click, the computer will try to match the surrounding color and blend the problem area away.  It’s like magic!  Remember though that the retouch tool is for small areas.  I cannot make one big box and in one click have a perfect picture.  The computer will do most of the hard work for us, we just need some patience.  We make small boxes to chip away at the problem area and make small changes along the way.

Here I gave you an example of using the retouch tool to get rid of telephone wires from the background of a photo.  You can use retouch in so many ways.  Try it on your face and erase the years as we get rid of wrinkles…who doesn’t want to look younger, right!  You can use it to get rid of a blemish, or a scar.  What if you had the date stamp on your camera turned on, but you really don’t want it in your photo…retouch can help.  Or maybe if it was raining and there’s a small water spot on your photo…try retouch, it just may help.

Think creatively and explore, and I think you just might find some things you love about Windows Live Photo Gallery!

~Hana                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Techspert, Ms Zaandam

5 Responses to “Retouching Photos Made Easy”

  1. Carol Thibodeaux August 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I took some classes on the MS Volendam recently. I thought when I put captions to my photos, they would appear with the picture when I displayed them in a slide show, etc. But does not work. Please explain better the use of captions….thank you.

    • haldigitalworkshop August 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

      The captions won’t appear on or with the photos at any time. They function as a way for you to caption the photo in Windows Live Photo Gallery. I wish there was a more complete answer than that, but alas that’s their sole purpose!

  2. Zo July 15, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    How do I move photos from other folders into my windows photo gallery?

  3. Shellie January 24, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    The methods revealed in these web sites are very easy to follow.

    All you have to do is read through the paragraph completely and just implement the same strategy to your website and that’s it!

Leave a Reply

