How to Split Music in Windows Live Movie Maker

25 Aug

Hello folks,

     Kristin here, writing direct from the Digital Workshop aboard the beautiful Ms Eurodam currently docked in Dover, England.  We as Techsperts are blessed with a job that allows us to see and experience people and places that few people may ever be able to witness, as such, we all have MANY photos and videos to show for it.   I for one like to create two things with my photos and videos, detailed photo books and movies that I burn DVD’s to highlight my travels and exploits.  Concerning the creation of the movies, I always use Windows Live Movie Maker to create my films.  By combining the photos and videos that I’ve taken into one file, adding music, animations and visual effects, I get an end result that will last me through the years. 

     While teaching the Making Movies class in the Digital Workshop I always get the question of how to move around the music into certain places. And some people don’t want music to play over their videos that they have taken for various reasons.  Below I have given an example of the splitting music tool to fix this little problem.  While on the Volendam in Australia and New Zealand I was able to watch a Maori tribe do a traditional sing and dance.  I took photos as well as videos, added them into the Movie Maker program and then added music.  But I didn’t want the audio from the music to override the music and singing of the performers.  So I proceeded to “split” the music. 

After I have added the photos, movies, transitions, visual effects to the movie I then add the music.  I then proceed to the “options” panel under Music Tools.

After having gone to the options panel, I then drag the black line that you will find in your slideshow area to the very beginning of my video that I have taken. After dragging the line to that point you will then go back up to the ribbon in the top and select the “split” option.  The split does not actually delete any of the music, it simply cuts it at the point that you have placed the black line on.  This allows you to then move the music.  To move the music, place your cursor over the green line that represents your music, then left and hold and drag the green line to the end of the video and release.  You should be seeing complete white (no green line) over the part of your video.

After accomplishing this task I can go straight to save my movie by going to the file panel in the top right hand corner on my ribbon and going to save movie and then to my computer. 

Well folks, hope this helps you to accomplish more with your videos and makes everything a little easier. 

Cheers from the Digital Workshop,

Kristin,

Techspert, Ms Eurodam and the Digital Workshop powered by Windows

7 Responses to “How to Split Music in Windows Live Movie Maker”

  1. Walter August 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Attended some of your work sessions on the Eurodam over the last 2 weeks, very well done. Looking for the unabridged versions of your Digital Workshops. They are not posted on the web site.

  2. gail kruetzman September 5, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Hi Kristin: Just finished your wonderful workshops on the Dover to Baltic Cruise. How do I get the FULL UNABRIDGED versions? The website you gave us( haldigitalworkshop.wordpress) only provide the CONDENSED versions. Where do I find the FULL versions? Thanks Gail

  3. Joe Bova September 5, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Kristen,
    I enjoyed and appreciated the workshops you put on in the Eurodam.I got all my photos on to my computer.I’m waitin for a new W7. I found the handouts you gave on this site but wasn’t able to find any unabridged versions.Have a happy and safe trip and enjoy some good drum music.
    Joe

  4. Bobi Salzman September 24, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I am having the same problem looking for the full-unabridged versions of your handouts. I enjoyed everyone of your classes while on the Eurodam for the Northern Passage cruise. I was beginning to think it was me – not being able to find what I was looking for so I am happy to read that others are having the same problem. I remember you were getting off the ship to go home so if you ever get to see these comments, please post what we are looking for.

    It was a pleasure meeting you and working with you. Hope your cold is all better.

    Bobi

  5. C. Scott Davis December 14, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I’m new to Movie Maker, so I found your post very helpful (thanks!). One thing I can’t figure out how to do is delete/remove a music track that I’ve added. I started working on the video and then decided to use different background music, but can’t figure out how to get rid of the one I’ve already added.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Cheers,
    C. Scott Davis

  6. Winston July 6, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    I want to join some workshope

  7. mini face lift cost michigan September 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info.
    I’m happy that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

