Camera Tip For Cruisers

12 Sep

Imagine losing your camera in a port of call. How would you ever hope to recover it?  Even if it was found by a “Good Samaritan,”  how would that nice person be able to reunite you with your camera and, more importantly, your memories?

Create a Digital “Reward Poster”

Before you leave home, the first picture you take on your new camera card should be one that can help to identify you in case your camera goes missing on your trip.  A picture of your business card would be good.  Even better, how about the picture of a homemade flyer on a standard piece of a paper that includes: your name, address, phone number and email address.  You might also include helpful information such as the name of your cruise ship and itinerary.  Last, but certainly not least, consider offering a reward for the safe return of your camera or (at least) your camera card.

By taking this small precaution, you provide the finder of your lost camera with a way to identify and contact you.

John Roberts – Techspert – ms Prinsendam

2 Responses to “Camera Tip For Cruisers”

  1. Bonnie Faherty September 17, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I make small (2-3″x2-3″) tags by printing a number of them on a page and cutting them out. Then I laminate them (twice so water is less likely to seep in), punch a hole in them, and attach a beaded chain (craft stores carry them) and use them to tag my small items such as cameras, binoculars, etc. The front side of this tag includes our name and phone numbers. The back side has email addresses. I’d discourage you from indicating your address for obvious reasons.

    I’ve done this for years and fortunately have never lost an item. I figure at a minimum the ‘finder” will have a guilty conscience if they don’t attempt to return the item.

  2. Mary T. Glynn September 18, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I lost my Camera when I was in Juneau this June. I asked someone to take my picture at Memdenhall Glacier. I was on Bus and it fell out of my pocket. When I got back to my ship the Amsterdam It was gone. I ran back to bus but it was gone. I put address labels on evry thing but this was my brothers camera. so I did not put on the camera. the next morning I got a phone call from a passenger on the Amsterdam he found the camera and looked at my photo’s He saw a photo of me on the camera and knew me right awaay. His cabin was across from mine. So I agree with taking photo and information

Leave a Reply

