A day in the life of a Techspert!

1 Jun

Hello folllowers. Techspert Tom here on the fabulous ms Noordam! I have been on this ship since May 2 and took the ship across the pond from Ft. Lauderdale to the Mediterranean. Currently, I am in Barcelona, Spain. I have to say, this is one of my new favorite places to be.

When I was discussing to a fellow shipmate, Simon about what I should blog about, he came up with the brilliant idea to create a movie. I took that idea and twisted it and this is what I did. Many guests ask me what I do on the ship throughout the day, well now you can find out. For one day at sea, I wore a camera on my head.

CIMG3803

The camera used is called “GoPro” and there are many different encasings you can purchase for the camera. I used the head strap. It worked out very well. It was quite the experience, not only did I get a lot of weird looks and laughs from guests, I also got to advertise my classes, especially the “Making Movies” class. This movie was created using Windows Live Movie Maker. Hope you like it!

A day in the life of Techspert Tom

As you can see, with Windows Live Movie Maker, you can create movies with both still pictures and videos you record as well. There are some basic editing tools when looking into video. You can Trim, Split, Set Start Point, and Set End Point. Once you input videos, these editing tools are located within the “Edit” tab. Check it out.

Here are just a few more pictures of me throughout the day.CIMG3791CIMG3792CIMG3802CIMG3803 (2)CIMG3806DSC_0048

Hope you enjoyed this post and I wish you all the best. Happy Cruising.

 

Techspert Tom

ms Noordam

2 Responses to “A day in the life of a Techspert!”

  1. Karen Mills June 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Hi,
    My husband and I just finished a wonderful cruise on the Maasdam, and Techspert John gave us some great information about photos and movie making with Windows Live. I completed my movie and am trying to upload to skydrive. It’s failed 3 times, always with error message 0X80042f49. Any advise? Thanks in advance for your help.

  2. Lindsay Chuck June 20, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Hi Tom
    Thank you for the computer lessons I run a small computer group at the village I live in and I’m using your handout on photo editing. I enjoyed your clip on A day in the life of a techspert. I seen myself a few times. I wish I was back on the cruise. The weather here in Adelaide South Australia is cold and wet.

Leave a Reply

