Hungry Bear: editing animation using Movie Maker

6 Jul

Greetings, Techspert Patti reporting from the msAmsterdam!

We have had the pleasure of sailing through Alaska on a 14-day cruise that takes us all the way up to Anchorage and back for the past few weeks. Last week we were blessed to be right near Anchorage for the summer Solstice and it was incredible to see the sun still shining at midnight – this really is the land of the midnight sun!

A few cruises back I was privileged enough to have a boy named Justin and his grandmother Marge participate in my digital workshops. I don’t often see kids in my workshops, and really enjoyed his presence amongst the crowd. One day, Justin and I got talking and I mentioned that my background is teaching stop-motion animation to kids his age, he seemed really interested in learning. So his grandmother and I arranged for us all to meet in the Digital Workshop and have Justin make a short animated film.

Unlike live action movie making where you use what is in your environment to create your film, for animation you have to create everything – all the characters, art work, backgrounds etc. In order to create Justin’s film I asked him to go take a photograph of ‘Alaskan scenery’, which we later printed as an 8×10 and used it as the background for making a movie about two bears – which I had purchased in Ketchikan for just this occasion (the toy kind of course).

Once we had the movie set created Justin came up with a story and I taught him how to animate it. Animation is created by taking multiple pictures of the object you wish to make ‘come alive’ – each time making small changes to give the illusion of movement – traditionally it takes 24 pictures to make one second of animation!

We actually used an application on my smart phone to film it as a stop-motion animation with Justin doing all the movements and me taking pictures. Once we had completed shooting the animation we then recorded some sound effects and put all these files into Windows Live Movie Maker.

Once in Movie Maker I was able to edit the animation, add title pages, credits and the sound effects Justin recorded (he did the voices of the bear!). I also wished to add music to our animated film and had our ‘Piano Man’ Roy specifically create a ‘soundtrack’ to our film. However, as Movie Maker is limited in the number of sound tracks you can add I had to get a little crafty. So once I edited the animation with title, Justin’s sound effects, and the credits I then exported it as an HD file — then brought that HD file back into Movie Maker and added our soundtrack to it, and exported again with both layers of sound attached to the movie.

Hope you enjoy!

Hungry Bear–by Justin
One Response to “Hungry Bear: editing animation using Movie Maker”

  1. bharat desi September 3, 2012 at 12:26 am #

    k

Leave a Reply

