Fun with Windows 8!

23 Dec

Greetings from the ms Nieuw Amsterdam!

Well it has been a couple weeks since I joined the ship and began teaching some of the new Windows 8 workshops, and boy have I been having fun! I will admit at first I was a little shy to explore all the new features, referring often to the Classic Desktop of which I was more familiar. But after a few days I started to get more comfortable with the new Start Screen and importantly with some of the amazing apps, like the People App, Mail App, and the Photo App – to name a few.

People App – As someone who like to stay connected with friends and family around the world, the People app has simplified my life immensely. I have been able to link my contacts from my email accounts and my Facebook account, so now if I want to connect with anyone, anywhere I can just go into my People App and find everyone in one place.

People App

Mail App – Wow, managing my email account has never been easier! The Mail App allows me to add multiple email accounts to create and send emails, and even organize them into folders without having to log into and out of each account. I am even able to create messages offline if I need to which is great while travelling, especially if internet isn’t always available, or I’m paying by the minute!

Mail App

Photo App – Imagine access to all your photo’s in one location! Your picture library, your Facebook photos, even photos you’ve placed on your SkyDrive or Flickr. Well, that’s what the Photo App does for you. All your photos at a glance, organized by where they are stored and when it’s time to show off some of your photos you can select a folder and with one swipe (or click) you even can display them as a slideshow.

Photo App

Now this is just a brief introduction of some of the great features of Windows 8, but I encourage everyone out there not to be shy and embrace the fun & fluidity of Microsoft’s newest OS Windows 8 – you’ll be glad you did!

Patti Smith
Techspert – ms Nieuw Amsterdam

3 Responses to “Fun with Windows 8!”

  1. Duane Lloyd December 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Keep the information coming.
    Thanks

  2. John Christian December 23, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Patti,
    You have a picture of the Nieuw Amsterdam and your comment was that she was at the terminal in Venice, I believe that Venice was fairly flat during my visit there and a further check will disclose that this picture was taken at Dubrovnik, Croatia with the bridge in the background. The ship most likely made a port call here either before or after Venice which may be why you got the location mixed up.

Leave a Reply

